Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Users

A user is a member of the system that is provided access to the Web Manager software and/or is assigned a key.  Users have varying degrees of security roles and profiles.  New users can be created and added to the system.  As well as being able to change or edit user information, users can be removed completely from the system.

Create

To create a user, select the Users tab in the horizontal menu near the top of the screen.

Next, select Add New User.

When the Create a User form appears, fill in the desired information in the fields provided.  If the User is located in a different time zone from the default time zone (see Organization Properties), then select the User's Time Zone from the drop down list and select the Daylight Savings Time (DST) box if DST applies within the User's time zone.  In the Security Configuration portion of the page, select the security role of the user (Key Holder, Operator, or Administrator) from the drop down menu. Under the User Assignment group, you can assign the user to a Group, a Shared Schedule and/or assign a Key to the user by entering in a key serial number. 


If the user is going to be assigned an Administrator or Operator security role, create a Username and Password. For a user that will be assigned a Key Holder security role, the username and password is not needed unless the Key Holder will need access to the XT Web Manager to download and install the Medeco XT Air mobile application on their mobile phone.  The created user will use this information to log into the Medeco XT Web Manager.  The password must be at least eight characters and include at least one alphabetical, one numerical, and one special character.  First Name, Last Name, Security Role, Username, and Password are required fields.  Usernames for login must be unique.  Users that are assigned with an Operator security role can also be assigned user profiles to further limit access to features within the software.  For more information on user profiles, please refer to Operator Security Roles and User Profiles.

Assigning Usernames

Note: Usernames are required to be unique.

PIN

A Personal Identification Number (PIN) can be used to verify the key holder to the system.  When this feature is enabled, the user will be required to enter a PIN on the Key Client application prior to servicing the key.

The PIN is created on the Create a User form. The PIN must be numeric and 4 digits. After the “Use PIN” check box is selected on the user form, the user must enter the correct PIN on the Key Client prior to servicing the key.  The use of the PIN can be enabled or disabled on the Edit a User form once it is created.

Assigning Usernames

Note:  To enable the PIN feature, both the “PIN Required” on Users form and “Use PIN” on the and Create/Edit user form must be selected.

 

Under the User Assignment section, you can assign the user to a Group, then assign the user to a Shared Schedule (if applicable).

The Group text box will not allow plain text to be saved in the form, so you must select an option from the smart list that populates once text begins to be entered. From the list provided you will select one of the options.

Once you have selected a Group for the user, you can follow the same steps to apply a Shared Schedule. Begin to type in the schedule name, and the options available to that user (based on the users group) will be displayed in the smart list. Select one of the listed options to apply the Shared Schedule

Once the desired fields are populated, select Save, and the user will be created.  After selecting the Save button, the Users main menu will reappear and show the users within the system in the User Table.  When users are created, users are always assigned to the highest Group on the Tree.  Users can then be moved to a lower group as desired.  Only users with the Super Administrator Security Role can not be moved.  The Super Administrator is always assigned to the global or highest group level in the organization.


Operator Security Roles and User Profiles

Note:  When creating a user with an Operator security role, the access of an Operator to specific software features can be limited by assigning user profiles.  

Edit

To edit a user's information, select the Users tab and select Edit on the table on the same line as the user's name.

Delete

To delete a user from the system, go to the Users tab and select Delete on the same line as the user's name.

Note: A user can only be deleted if the user's key is disabled or if there is no key assigned to the user.




Unable to Edit User's Name

 When a User displays in the Audits table, the First Name and Last Name fields can no longer be edited on the Edit a User page.  The fields display in gray and a message displays which reads, "User name is not editable because it is on one or more audits."

  • No labels